Awaiting the grand reveal: Ukrainian egg making 2013

Hilary Makes

When Jen brought forward the idea of decorating Ukrainian eggs this past weekend, I jumped at the opportunity.

Ukrainian egg4

I don’t know if it’s just me and my friends, it seems as though many people have had exposure to Ukrainian egg painting at some point in their lives. For me, it was in either grade two or three, when I was living in Sudbury the first time around. My mom and I made a set of three eggs on a mother-daughter craft date. The details of the actual painting aren’t too clear in my mind, but I do know the legacy of those eggs live on. Up until this past week, the eggs were sitting in the display cabinet in my parent’s dining room. Because you don’t empty the contents of the egg prior to painting (the membrane serves as insulation, otherwise the empty shell would become too hot and delicate…

View original post 729 more words

Leave a Reply Please

